Instant Live: Odeon – Cleveland OH 03-09-04

Release date: 20-Apr-2004

Label: Instant Live

Dickey Betts & Great Southern

AllMusic Review by Bruce Eder  [-]

Anyone who misses the original Allman Brothers Band sound need look no further than this live triple-CD set, recorded at the Odeon in Cleveland, OH, on March 9, 2004, to find it. Not that the band doesn’t put its own stamp on the material, starting with a bracing and gorgeous rendition of Duane Allman‘s “Little Martha,” but the two-guitar attack, courtesy of Dickey Betts and Dan Toler, touches some familiar sonic territory, and David Stoltz (bass), Frankie Lombardi (drums), and Michael Kach (keyboards), filling out the ranks of Betts‘ band Great Southern, sound more like the Allmans of old than the current band circa 2004/2005 does. The repertoire ranges freely through current originals,Allman Brothers classics, and the band’s adaptations of blues standards such as Robert Johnson‘s “Steady Rolling Man,” which sounds like it could’ve come off of the Idlewild South album. The sound is excellent and the swiftness with which the triple-disc set was made available, scarcely a month after the show while the band was on tour, precludes even the notion of any “sweetening” or phonying up of the sound. There’s no annotation and the packaging is extremely spare; this is the sort of fan-oriented set that is usually offered over a group’s website, but in this case it’s also gotten a commercial release. But the music is what matters here, and anyone buying this set pretty much knows who and what he’s listening to without the need of a program.

  1. Little Martha
  2. Steady Rollin' Man
  3. Blue Sky
  4. Change My Way Of Living
  5. Girl With The Deep Blue Eyes
  6. Dona Maria
  7. Disc 2
  8. Southbound
  9. Nobody Knows Pt. 1
  10. Nobody Knows Pt. 2
  11. Where It All Begins
  12. Get Away
  13. Come On In My Kitchen
  14. Having A Good Time
  15. Disc 3
  16. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
  17. Ramblin' Man
  18. No One To Run With
  19. Seven Turns
  20. Jessica